Turning the Page

Yesterday, I opened my journal to write out my thoughts and feelings regarding this search for fulfillment, self-awareness and self-love that I am about to embark on. Everything that was written in the journal before then was, well, depressing! I lamented about this problem, complained about this problem, felt sorry for myself about one thing, beat myself up about another thing. I had thought that writing out all of this depression and anxiety would get all of that crap out of me and onto paper and allow me to move on. Instead, I was using it as an excuse to linger with those feelings and feel sorry for myself. It was all wallow, nothing else. What’s the point of continuing on that path?

So I stopped. I physically turned the page in my journal to symbolize turning a page in my life and way of thinking. It’s time for positivity and self-discovery.

Here’s my plan, and I encourage all of you to embrace these concepts and apply them in your own life how you see fit. Although I acknowledge that depression, anxiety, pain, suffering – all of those fun things – do exist in our lives, I am choosingย from now on to make a conscious effort to move away from that negativity. While I do not think it is healthy to ignore the parts of us that are hurting, I also believe that it is equally unhealthy to allow them to take over our lives. My plan from now on is to treat negativity in my life like thoughts during meditation. Acknowledge their presence, and then move on.

What do you think about all of this? Do you agree? Perhaps you can relate to my journaling dilemma. Or perhaps you disagree completely! Please share your thoughts in the comments below. ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “Turning the Page

  1. Nancy Pisa says:

    Love it, Emily!! Thanks for sharing :).

  2. Bad things happen all the time, that’s life and life is no fairy tale which we so desperately want it to be. However I think when something bad happens we must not let it define us but use it as a foundation to grow from, to learn from and to become strong from because we dont have the ability to change them, but we do have the ability to chose how we react to them.

    And about the journal thing that’s so cool. I looked back at a diary (c’mon I’m English, that’s what I call it!) and there was all this dark stuff written from a bad relationship I was in…So I used paperclips to cover up the bad stuff with good things, stuff I had written, things people had wrote for me etc…So that I can now look back see the bad things but also the good things to counteract it..Take the good with the bad and all that!

    Loving the blog I could talk about this stuff all day!
    Elise

    • So true, Elise! When I was going through my darkest times, I chose to let it define me, but now that I look back on it, I would never be where I am today without that foundation.

      I love that idea of paperclipping good things over the bad… it’s your way of taking the power back!

      Glad you like the blog – keep following… I love the feedback! I could talk about it all day as well ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

