Quick Reminder:

Hello lovely readers.

I’m going to be honest… I’m having a really hard time right now. Suffice to say that traveling around Europe in a spree of self-indulgence makes it very difficult to grieve when tragedy strikes back home. I’m posting this not to focus on the negative and to pity my situation, but instead to use it as a reminder for all of us to take the time to smile today.

Even when things aren’t going that well, even when it is hard to see the positive in things, it is vital to do something that brings you joy. It is not selfish. It is the ultimate act of kindness to those around you, because it allows you to be the best that you can be. For me, I listened to some cheerful music, looked up books that I’m interested in reading and did a few pushups to remind myself of my strength. Then I closed my eyes, thought of my loved ones back home who are suffering, and smiled. I sent them a smile of love, compassion and devotion. That’s all I can do from 6000 miles away, but perhaps that’s the most powerful message to send in any event.

So no matter how you are feeling today or what is going wrong, I want you to stop what you are doing and take the next 3 minutes to do something – anything – that will bring a genuine smile to your face. That is the best gift you can give to yourself and to the world.

With love,
Emily

Leave a Reply

