Fresh Start

I just discovered that feature on Facebook that shows you your statuses from “This Day in 2009” or “This Day in 2010,” and this is a dream come true for someone like me who is obsessively nostalgic.

On August 27, 2010, I wrote on Facebook “I’m making a fresh start. I need to finally make a break from the old Emily who always put herself last. Time to grow up, Emily.”

This flash from the past moved me for two reasons. One, I was more insightful and stronger than I could have ever believed. I was definitely on the right track by August 2010, but I was still extremely self-conscious. Despite all of that, I was able to see the importance of putting myself first. I was already learning these valuable lessons, which proves to me that I was stronger than I believed.

Secondly, and more profoundly in my opinion, I don’t remember what had upset me enough on August 27, 2010 to post this status. I clearly wasn’t happy with myself and felt a dire need for change, yet only one year has passed, and I have absolutely no idea why. That’s so important to remember. Let yourself feel the emotions related to your setbacks, but then move on. Everything passes. Learn from it, and move on – stronger and wiser.

Leave a Reply

