To Share or not to Share – That is the Question.

I just saw this short TED Talks video the other day. It’s about goal setting and the psychological evidence that sharing your goals with others makes it less likely for you to achieve them. It’s only a little over 3 minutes long – I’ll let you watch it:

I don’t know how I feel about this! Facts don’t lie, and I do believe what these studies have to say. But on the other hand, I think accountability is vital for achieving your goals.

Maybe it comes down to personality type. I, like many others, am very conscious of others’ perception of me, so I would not want to damage their image of me by sharing my goals and not living up to them. For others, the satisfaction of the initial “good for you!” when sharing their goals is enough and they stagnate.

 

Which personality type are you? Which goal-setting approach works best for you? Share!


					
Leave a Reply

