Same Ol’ Cannonball

One of my favorite songs of all time is Cannonball by Brandi Carlile. The lyrics at one part are:

“Someone told me a lie
Someone looked me in the eye
And said time will ease your pain
But behold, when you fall
It’s that same old cannonball
Coming back for your heart again”

Now, I’ve found this applicable to my own experience in many different times in my life. However right now, it applies to my fear of rejection.

I have never been in a relationship. I’m very insecure about this, because it makes me feel like I’m not loveable. Obviously this is not true, and it is something that I am working on.

So that’s where I’m at. That same old cannonball of fear is coming back for me. I’m sure many of you are in similar situations. Perhaps it isn’t the same fear of rejection, but there is some kind of fear, some kind of pain, something impeding you from living your best life.

What do we do? We work past that obstacle.

For example, I have a major crush right now. My instinct is to run and hide, to keep this completely secret, to not let myself become vulnerable in any situation related to romance. But instead, I am going to force myself to let my feelings known and see what comes of it. It’s an especially terrifying situation, because I know that nothing will come of it. The recipient of my romantic feelings has a girlfriend and considers me a sister. Nonetheless, it is important for me to jump this hurdle and prove to myself that making myself romantically vulnerable will not kill me.

 

Wish me luck! I will need it! And I hope you take me up on this challenge to face something in your life that scares you, push past it, and prove to yourself that you are stronger than whatever is holding you back.

2 thoughts on “Same Ol’ Cannonball

  1. Masha says:

    I’ve asked out several people and though most times my interest wasn’t returned I’ve never regretted putting myself out there like that. Let us know how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

